For specific matters pertaining to the smoking thundering twins

Postby Vince2 » Sun Jun 24, 2012 10:29 am

I'm a newbie on this board and wanted to say hi. :)
I just bought a 1968 Cobra with a number in the 10800's. It's just been imported from the States and in a poor but 95% complete state.
Wasn't going to take it appart till the winter but could help myself. :roll: I've started stripping it as it had a standing sieze on the left piston. Managed to free it off and clean up the bore fine. Actually the pistons, bores and rings all measure up well within tolerance of standard bore. I'm real pleased about that as it's been stood for years outside. (Im still pulling grass off it!! :lol: )
I know about the gearbox oil level needing to be increased to 1400cc but how can I check if the conversion has been done without pulling the cases appart?
When I drained the oil, next to nothing came out :o Also, did I do wrong by taking out the bolt next to the gearbox oil drain bolt? the one with a long thread and a domed top?
I'll upload some pics of the strip as I do it if anyone thinks it's worth seeing??
Hope someone can help. I don't want to strip the cases unless I have to (Or it's easy)
Attachments
Cobra1stpic.jpg
Cobra1stpic.jpg (32.65 KiB) Viewed 586 times
Vince2

Re: New member

Postby johnakay » Sun Jun 24, 2012 4:47 pm

Hi and welcome.
answer to your question is no.
you will need to split your engine,the chance's are it will not have been done.
johnakay

Postby Vince2 » Sun Jun 24, 2012 10:06 pm

Thanks for the advice. Had a quick look at the Haynes manual. Will I need a puller?

Also, what happens if I put in 1400cc into a gearbox that hasn't got the mod? Where does excess end up?
Vince2

Postby Batterstyle » Wed Jun 27, 2012 10:39 am